Holiday racing schedule at Aqueduct

Share this page

By Matt Shifman

 

Life gets very busy during December when all the winter holidays abound. So that you can make your racing and wagering plans, I wanted to share the schedule at Aqueduct through the first week of the New Year.

 

This weekend there are two stakes for New York-bred 2-year-olds as part of the NY Stallion Series. On Saturday, the filly Sassy Agnes goes for her fourth consecutive state-bred stakes win for trainer Linda Rice in the six furlongs Fifth Avenue (race 3). On Sunday a full field of 12 is entered in the Great White Way (race 8), open to all juveniles it will also be run at six furlongs.

 

The normal winter racing schedule in December, January, and February has four days of racing a week on Thursday through Sunday, but there are some changes for the holidays.

 

Saturday, Dec. 15 – New York Stallion Series, Fifth Avenue, 2YO fillies, 6 furlongs

Sunday, Dec. 16 – New York Stallion Series, Great White Way, 2YO, 6 furlongs

Thursday, Dec. 20

Friday, Dec. 21

Saturday, Dec. 22 – Queens County, 3YO and up, 1 1/8 miles

Sunday, Dec. 23 – Gravesend – 3YO and up, 6 furlongs

Friday, Dec. 28

Saturday, Dec. 29 – Alex M. Robb – 3YO and up (NY-bred), 1 1/8 miles

Sunday, Dec. 30 – Bay Ridge – 3YO and up fillies and mares (NY-bred), 1 1/8 miles

Monday, Dec. 31 – Damon Runyan – 2YO (NY-bred), 1 mile

Tuesday, Jan. 1 – Jerome – 3YO, 1 mile, Kentucky Derby prep series

Friday, Jan. 4

 

The New York Hot List team wants to wish you Happy Holidays filled with good health and good luck.